Whitley Award Texas Carnival Glass Club (TCGC) The Origination By Jim Lee, Past President



I have had the pleasure of knowing Floyd and Cecil Whitley since 1997. In my travels around the country, as a part of the carnival glass world, I learned much of their generosity and contributions. I originally thought that we establish a TCGC Whitley Award to honor them for their contributions to TCGC and carnival glass in general. Beginning of 2002 I asked several TCGC members their thoughts on the subject and many of those members have eventually become Whitley Award recipients themselves. Therefore, Kelani and I were soon off to Houston to visit with the Whitley's about this very subject and to fully discuss their wishes and desires of how such an award would be to honor them. As always they were gracious hosts and fully expressed their gratitude to TCGC for the consideration of this honor and basically felt to leave it up to me to handle as I deemed appropriate. One discussion was who should receive the award and it was then decided that Roy and Charlene Hieger just edged out Richard and Carol Cinclair. So the Hieger's would receive first and then Cinclair's next. So with the Whitley's blessing your TCGC board went into action.

The next quarterly meeting being 5/2002 in Rockport, Texas, was hosted by Bobby and Earline Flanagan and where it was presented to the 34 members in attendance. Of course it was unanimous for the creation of the TCGC Whitley Award with Cecil and Floyd to be the first recipients and to be honored at the next convention 2003. The verbiage of the award and details were finally written out on a beautiful day in a good ole Texas deer stand sitting high on a hill looking out over many miles of Texas. The TCGC board finalized the details and Emmett Morgan used his resources to secure the actual award, base and plaques.

At the time the Whitley's were already hosting and providing a meal for the TCGC members at our annual convention with the prior year being known as the Valentine Dinner. On an occasion I had spoken with Floyd about his costs associated with this dinner and or the max number of guest for his budget. He advised me he trusted my price negotiations and even if there were 300 people he would take care of it and they just wanted those in attendance to have fun. As the details were finalized this meal and function became the Whitley Award and the Whitley's graciously continued to support and underwrite this function.

TCGC has much to be thankful for as to what Floyd and Cecil Whitley have prior demonstrated and their contribution to this club and carnival glass over the many years. They are still most deserving of the original award and I know they would be proud of all those who have received the Whitley Award since. Therefore, on behalf of all TCGC members and in memory of all those past members I reiterate a job well done.

The Whitley Award Floyd & Cecil Whitley First recipients 2003

The Texas Carnival Glass Club establishes this award in honor of their dedication to carnival glass that has enriched fellow collectors.

Their contribution and generosity shall set standards for future recipients of the "Whitley" award.

List of Winners

2003	Floyd & Cecil Whitley, Houston, Texas
	Two of the 10 founders who formed TCGC; Floyd, President of TCGC; Cecil, author of "Carnival Glass
	Tumblers"
2005	Leroy & Charlene Hieger, Round Rock, Texas
	President of TCGC, President of ICGA, Banquet & Seminar speaker
2006	Richard & Carol Cinclair, Plano, Texas
	Richard, President of TCGC, President of ICGA; Carol, TCGC Newsletter Editor
2008	Jack & Eleanor Hamilton, Waco, Texas
	President of TCGC & Research Editor, Banquet & Seminar speakers
2010	Joyce Seale, Greenville, Texas
	Dedicated Collector, Hospitality Room Co-chair
2011	Robert "Bob" Grissom, Kansas City, Missouri
	President of HOACGA, Banquet and Seminar speaker
2012	Marie Capps, Oakhurst, California
	Vice President, San Joaquin Valley Carnival Glass Club
2013	Jerry & Carol Curtis, Stillwater, Oklahoma
	Jerry, HOACGA Treasurer, Research Editor for TCGC; Carol, Treasurer TCGC
2014	Sylvester & Diann Walleck, Edna, Texas
	Dedicated Collectors & Carnival Glass Advocates, Community Educators & Volunteers
2015	Emmett & Dorothy Morgan, Brenham, Texas
	Emmett, President of TCGC; Dorothy, TCGC Hospitality Room Queen, Banquet and Seminar
	speakers
2016	Tommy & Jeannie Whitley, Houston, Texas
	Tommy, President of TCGC; Jeannie, Treasurer of TCGC; Tommy & Jeannie, Newsletter Editor
2017	Dolores Sage, Cape Coral, Florida
	Director, SSCGA; Founder of SSCGA's "Sunshine Club" now known as Iridescent Nation
2018	Tom & Ann Bumpass, Longview, Texas
	Director, ICGA; Mentors, Banquet & Seminar speakers
2019	Carl & Eunice Booker, Griffith, Indiana
	Officers, Board Members, & Newsletter Editors of ICGA, ACGA and Hoosier clubs; Banquet and
	Seminar speakers
2020	Brian Foster, Arlington, Texas
	President, ICGA; Co-Creator of the Woodsland Carnival Glass Website and Mailing List (Hooked on
	Carnival); Banquet & Seminar Videographer and speaker